Cambodian Tourist Arrivals Up 19% For First Nine Months


Thursday, 8th November 2007

PHNOM PENH (AFP)–Tourist arrivals to Cambodia climbed 19% for the first three quarters of 2007 compared to the same period last year, Prime Minister Hun Sen said Wednesday.

"We expect tourist arrivals to reach 2.0 million in 2007," he told a biannual investment and trade meeting.

Cambodia recorded about 1.7 million tourist arrivals in 2006.

The burgeoning tourist sector has injected new life into impoverished Cambodia, which is still recovering from decades of conflict.

The boom in visitors has brought with it new construction, as developers race to meet demand for hotels and resorts, Hun Sen said.

Earlier this year the government also approved plans for several high-end resorts worth $627 million to be built on the islands off of the country’s southern coast.

Foreign airlines have been keen to take advantage of the rising number of tourists, with Japan Airlines becoming the latest carrier to offer direct charter flights to Cambodia.

JAL will fly between three major Japanese cities and Siem Reap, the gateway to Cambodia’s famed Angkor temples.

Hun Sen said two companies are in talks with officials to form a national carrier, of which the Cambodian government will hold a 30% stake.

Several attempts to form a national airline have failed since Royal Air Cambodge, the country’s last carrier, collapsed in 2001 under the weight of mounting financial debts.

The prime minister said negotiators had reached a deal that would protect the government from any losses incurred by the airline.

"We have been waiting for so long now," he said, urging officials to speed up the talks.

[url=http://ki-media.blogspot.com/2007/11/cambodian-tourist-arrivals-up-19-for.html]Source[/url]

10 thoughts on “Cambodian Tourist Arrivals Up 19% For First Nine Months

  1. Yes, this is good news, but we need more, maybe 8-10 times more the numberof tourists.We need entrepreneurs to help draw in tourists and get them to spend moneyin Cambodia. We need our own Air Line to bring them in from all over the world.There is a new museum just open in SiemReap, I hope that will be a nice attraction,and we\’ll probably need a lot more museums in the near future.

  2. Sure, we need more tourists to visit our country. But at this moment, this amount is even perfect. You know some part of the temples, even Angkor, are being damaged because they were over-exposed to tourists.
     
    I say, the authority must use their times to convert thing into the right direction because we are certain that more people will arrive next year.

  3. Denith, you have been reading too many nonsense about damages to Ankor Watt. Everything will be fine. The only thing that wear down is the floor and thatcan be repaired and replaced quite easily and cheap. So don\’t worry about that..What we need is to continue to get in more tourists and create jobs for everyonewho live in the area. We must remove poverty and suffering quickly, and we mustmove fast. There are still many people who is homeless and beg on the street. Thinkof them first before the stupid Ankor Watt floors.

  4. Lolz… I just want to show my concern if we are to approach a big name tourist status in our region.
     
    Of course, tourism provides jobs and more economic growth. Well! I\’ll just leave all of these to Apsara Authority. I heard they plan to make a new route for tourist travel (Vung).

  5. Lolz… I just want to show my concern if we are to approach a big name tourist status in our region.
     
    Of course, tourism provides jobs and more economic growth. Well! I\’ll just leave all of these to Apsara Authority. I heard they plan to make a new route for tourist travel (Vung).

  6. Lolz… I just want to show my concern if we are to approach a big name tourist status in our region.
     
    Of course, tourism provides jobs and more economic growth. Well! I\’ll just leave all of these to Apsara Authority. I heard they plan to make a new route for tourist travel (Vung).

  7. Lolz… I just want to show my concern if we are to approach a big name tourist status in our region.
     
    Of course, tourism provides jobs and more economic growth. Well! I\’ll just leave all of these to Apsara Authority. I heard they plan to make a new route for tourist travel (Vung).

  8. Lolz… I just want to show my concern if we are to approach a big name tourist status in our region.
     
    Of course, tourism provides jobs and more economic growth. Well! I\’ll just leave all of these to Apsara Authority. I heard they plan to make a new route for tourist travel (Vung).

  9. Lolz… I just want to show my concern if we are to approach a big name tourist status in our region.
     
    Of course, tourism provides jobs and more economic growth. Well! I\’ll just leave all of these to Apsara Authority. I heard they plan to make a new route for tourist travel (Vung).

  10. Lolz… I just want to show my concern if we are to approach a big name tourist status in our region.
     
    Of course, tourism provides jobs and more economic growth. Well! I\’ll just leave all of these to Apsara Authority. I heard they plan to make a new route for tourist travel (Vung).

Leave a Reply

